If the book you want is not available in the DVC Library, we may be able to borrow it for you from another library. Fill out the InterLibrary Loan Request Form to begin the borrowing process. Keep in mind that requests can take up so 3-4 weeks but usually arrive within 10 days. If you have any questions, please speak or chat with a reference librarian.
Praeger Handbook of Sports Medicine and Athlete Health by
This comprehensive set covers every aspect of sports medicine, from how to play healthy to how to pursue a career in this varied field. * Includes a glossary of sports medicine terms and abbreviations * Provides appendices on choosing a college, graduate program, or professional school, sports medicine programs, and sports medicine associations
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education.
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine, Vol. 1: Trauma and Medical Emergencies - eBook by
Authored by renowned UEFA medical specialists in the medical care of football players, this three-volume series-sourced from the course materials used in UEFA's Doctor Education Program-aims to familiarize clinicians with a structured system of assessment and care in dealing with the wide variety of injuries that can afflict professional footballers. Volume 1 instructs on advanced techniques for managing the treatment of serious and life-threatening on-field injury. Key Topics of Volume 1: Initial assessment Cardiac arrest and choking Medical emergencies Head injuries and concussion General management The Encyclopedia of Football Medicine will be essential reading for physicians working for football teams, orthopaedists, sports medicine physicians, and specialized physical therapists.
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine, Vol. 2: Injury Diagnosis and Treatment - eBook by
Authored by renowned UEFA specialists in the medical care of football players, this three-volume series-sourced from the course materials used in UEFA's Football Doctor Education Program-aims to familiarize clinicians with a structured system of assessment and care in dealing with the wide variety of injuries that can afflict professional footballers. Volume 2 introduces football doctors to the specific types of injuries that may occur, and the mechanisms of injury, with a wealth of information supported by scientific evidence. Key Topics of Volume 2: Overview of football injuries Managing injuries in competitive situations: the laws of the game Muscle function and mechanisms of muscle injury Examination and treatment of muscle injuries Groin, knee, and ankle injuries Overuse injuries The Encyclopedia of Football Medicine will be essential reading for physicians working for football teams, orthopaedists, sports medicine physicians, and specialised physical therapists.
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine, Vol. 3: Protecting the Player - eBook by
This is an important addition to the sports medicine literature because it addresses issues that are critical for player health and safety and performance. -- Doody's Reviews (starred review) Authored by renowned UEFA specialists in the medical care of football players, this three-volume series-sourced from the course materials used in UEFA's Doctor Education Program-aims to familiarize clinicians with a structured system of assessment and care in dealing with the wide variety of injuries that can afflict the professional footballer. Volume 3 covers a range of multidisciplinary topics that aim to ensure that players can compete safely and maintain peak fitness and performance, while preventing disabling injuries insofar as possible. Key Topics of Volume 3: Nutritional supplements Doping Prescreening of players Psychological and other risk factors Head injuries and concussion: screening, diagnosis, management Injury prevention and rehabilitation Practical help in providing medical service at matches The Encyclopedia of Football Medicine will be essential reading for physicians working for football teams, orthopaedists, sports medicine physicians, and specialised physical therapists.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education.
These two databases feature thousands of encyclopedia articles on a wide variety of topics.
How College Athletics Are Hurting Girls' Sports by
More girls are playing sports than ever before--which, on the surface, is great for girls because sports offer positive and empowering fun for young women. In reality, though, few young athletes report "fun" as a reason they play sports. The rates of concussions and repetitive use injuries are on the rise, and kids are encouraged to specialize in a single sport at earlier and earlier ages, spending much of their free time throughout the year dedicated to the pursuit of a single sport at the expense of friends, other activities, and sometimes, health. Alarmed by the stories he heard from young athletes in his classes, sports scholar Rick Eckstein set out to investigate youth sports--why young people are playing them, how they have changed over time, and their impact on kids and families. Through three years of extensive research, including surveys, interviews, and more, Eckstein discovered that college athletics are having an alarming impact on youth sports, particularly for girls. How College Athletics Are Hurting Girls' Sports looks closely at college sports and how they shape the athletic--and personal--landscape for girls and young women. Filled with powerful interview excerpts from women athletes of all ages, as well as coaches, league officials, and others, the book chronicles how college and youth sports have become more commercialized, to the detriment of participants. The book looks at a range of sports, with case studies including soccer, field hockey, ice hockey, figure skating, and Ultimate Frisbee. The author celebrates sports' potential to have a positive impact on a girl's life, but he recommends changes in how college and youth athletics are structured to improve the experience of young athletes and to give them their childhood back.
Fitness Professional's Handbook by
Fitness Professional's Handbook, Seventh Edition With Web Resource, provides current and future fitness professionals with the knowledge to screen participants, conduct standardized fitness tests, evaluate the major components of fitness, and prescribe appropriate exercise. The fully updated text uses the latest standards, guidelines, and research from authorities in the field to prepare readers for certification and arm them with the knowledge to work with a variety of clients and populations. This full-color text incorporates information from the 10th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans exercise and physical activity recommendations for adults, older adults, children, and those with special needs.
Black Gods of the Asphalt by
J-Rod moves like a small tank on the court, his face mean, staring down his opponents. "I play just like my father," he says. "Before my father died, he was a problem on the court. I'm a problem." Playing basketball for him fuses past and present, conjuring his father's memory into a force that opponents can feel in each bone-snapping drive to the basket. On the street, every ballplayer has a story. Onaje X. O. Woodbine, a former streetball player who became an all-star Ivy Leaguer, brings the sights and sounds, hopes and dreams of street basketball to life. He shows that big games have a trickster figure and a master of black talk whose commentary interprets the game for audiences. The beats of hip-hop and reggae make up the soundtrack, and the ballplayers are half-men, half-heroes, defying the ghetto's limitations with their flights to the basket. Basketball is popular among young black American men but not because, as many claim, they are "pushed by poverty" or "pulled" by white institutions to play it. Black men choose to participate in basketball because of the transcendent experience of the game. Through interviews with and observations of urban basketball players, Onaje X. O. Woodbine composes a rare portrait of a passionate, committed, and resilient group of athletes who use the court to mine what urban life cannot corrupt. If people turn to religion to reimagine their place in the world, then black streetball players are indeed the hierophants of the asphalt.
This Is Your Brain on Sports by
This is Your Brain on Sports is the book for sports fans searching for a deeper understanding of the games they watch and the people who play them. Sports Illustrated executive editor and bestselling author L. Jon Wertheim teams up with Tufts psychologist Sam Sommers to take readers on a wild ride into the inner world of sports. Through the prism of behavioral economics, neuroscience, and psychology, they reveal the hidden influences and surprising cues that inspire and derail us--on the field and in the stands--and by extension, in corporate board rooms, office settings, and our daily lives. In this irresistible narrative romp, Wertheim and Sommers usher us from professional football to the NBA to Grand Slam tennis, from the psychology of athletes self-handicapping their performance in the boxing ring or the World Series, to an explanation of why even the glimpse of a finish line can lift us beyond ordinary physical limits. They explore why Tom Brady and other starting NFL quarterbacks all seem to look like fashion models; why fans of teams like the Cubs, Mets, and any franchise from Cleveland love rooting for a loser; why the best players make the worst coaches; why hockey goons (and fans) would rather fight at home than on the road; and why the arena t-shirt cannon has something to teach us about human nature. In short, this book is an entertaining and thought-provoking journey into how psychology and behavioral science collide with the universe of wins-and-losses, coaching changes, underdogs, and rivalry games. -- Boston Globe, Best Books of 2016, Sports
Endurance Sports Nutrition-3rd Edition by
Endurance Sports Nutrition will guide you in selecting the optimal foods, drinks, and supplements so you can train longer, recover more quickly, avoid injuries, and achieve your performance goals in any endurance endeavor. Sports dietitian and former elite runner Suzanne Girard Eberle presents a fueling program that addresses the unique concerns of endurance athletes: - Road and trail running, from 5K to 100+ miles - Cycling and mountain biking, from time trials to multiday rides - Duathlon and triathlon, from sprint to Ironman - Winter sports, from Nordic ski races to mountain ascents - Water sports, including rowing and open-water swimming - Environmental conditions, including extreme temperatures and high altitude The third edition includes meal planning recommendations for vegetarian athletes and those with food allergies and intolerances as well as profiles, advice from elite endurance athletes, and strategies for avoiding the most common pitfalls of training. Endurance Sports Nutrition will fuel your best performance.
The Sports Gene by
In high school, I wondered whether the Jamaican Americans who made our track team so successful might carry some special speed gene from their tiny island. In college, I ran against Kenyans, and wondered whether endurance genes might have traveled with them from East Africa. At the same time, I began to notice that a training group on my team could consist of five men who run next to one another, stride for stride, day after day, and nonetheless turn out five entirely different runners. How could this be? The debate is as old as physical competition. Are stars like Usain Bolt, Michael Phelps, and Serena Williams genetic freaks put on Earth to dominate their respective sports? Or are they simply normal people who overcame their biological limits through sheer force of will and obsessive training? The truth is far messier than a simple dichotomy between nature and nurture. In the decade since the sequencing of the human genome, researchers have slowly begun to uncover how the relationship between biological endowments and a competitor's training environment affects athleticism.
Principles of Kinesiology by
Kinesiology is a system of natural health care that combines muscle testing with the principles of Chinese medicine to assess energy and body function. A touch therapy, it uses a range of gentle yet powerful healing techniques and can be effective in the treatment of many conditions, including allergies, backache, fatigue, emotional difficulties, headaches and skin and bowel problems. This book describes how kinesiology can help with these problems by correcting imbalances found in the different forms of kinesiology assessment.This introductory guide explains how kinesiology works, how to find a practitioner and how it is usefully applied with other therapies, as well as how self-help techniques can be applied. It will be of interest to anyone considering kinesiology treatment, or simply wanting to find out more about this healing system. Students and practitioners of kinesiology and related practices will find it to be a useful reference, and a perfect introduction to recommend to clients.
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise by
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise reveals the microworld of the body in motion, from motor proteins that produce force to enzymes that extract energy from food, and tackles questions athletes ask: What should we ingest before and during a race? How does a hard workout trigger changes in our muscles? Why does exercise make us feel good?
Fundamentals of Motor Control by
Motor control is a relatively young field of research exploring how the nervous system produces purposeful, coordinated movements in its interaction with the body and the environment through conscious and unsconscious thought. Many books purporting to cover motor control have veered off course to examine biomechanics and physiology rather than actual control, leaving a gap in the literature. This book covers all the major perspectives in motor control, with a balanced approach. There are chapters explicitly dedicated to control theory, to dynamical systems, to biomechanics, to different behaviors, and to motor learning, including case studies. Reviews current research in motor control Contains balanced perspectives among neuroscience, psychology, physics and biomechanics Highlights controversies in the field Discusses neurophysiology, control theory, biomechanics, and dynamical systems under one cover Links principles of motor control to everyday behaviors Includes case studies delving into topics in more detail
These streaming videos cover some common kinesiology topics:
