Choosing a topic / Research Strategy
- Developing a Research QuestionThis tutorial from Empire State College walks you through the process of writing a research questions with three simple exercises.
- Developing a Library Research StrategyThis tutorial from the Ramsey Library helps you plan a research strategy for your paper.
Scholarly Journals and Magazines
- Scholarly vs. Popular PeriodicalsWatch this 3 minute video to learn the differences between scholarly journals and magazines.
Plagiarism
- PlagiarismThis thorough handout from the University of North Carolina defines plagiarism and covers strategies such as paraphrasing for avoiding plagiarism.
- Avoiding PlagiarismThis online handout covers plagiarism and accidental plagiarism as well as strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
Primary and Secondary Sources
- What Are Primary Sources?This primary sources website from the Yale describes the different types of primary source documents.
- Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary InformationThis module from Troy University covers the differences between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.
Open Web vs. Library Databases
- What Is a Library Database?This tutorial breaks down the differences between using library databases and the open web.
- Invisible or Deep WebFrom UC Berkeley's Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial, this module covers the invisible web, which is where you will find most library databases.
DVC Library Tutorials
- How to Find Articles in Library DatabasesWatch this screencast to learn how to search EBSCO's Academic Search Premier.
- How to Find Books in ALICE, DVC's Library CatalogWatch the screencast and learn how to use the library catalog to find books.
- How to Find Books on ReserveWatch this screencast and learn how to search for your reserve textbook at the DVC library.
Searchpath Library Tutorial
For more in depth coverage of these topics, take the
DVC Library tutorial, Searchpath, or select a module below.







Loading...
