If the book you want is not available in the DVC Library, we may be able to borrow it for you from another library.
Fill out the InterLibrary Loan Request Form to begin the borrowing process. Keep in mind that requests can take up so 3-4 weeks but usually arrive within 10 days. If you have any questions, please speak or chat with a reference librarian.
Covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to scientific method. The Shorter REP includes the following special features: Unrivalled coverage of major philosophers, themes, movements and periods. An outstanding guide to all things philosophical, The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides an unrivalled introduction to the subject for students and general readers alike.
A to Z of Philosophy is a fun, concise and accessible introduction to a fascinating subject. This A to Z guide covers all the key terms, concepts and thinkers. The book offers more than 100 entries on topics from Animal Ethics to Wittgenstein and includes witty anecdotes and handy tips on further reading. Entries cover all the key concepts and figures in philosophy, but also include philosophical looks at everyday topics such as food, love, happiness and sex. No prior knowledge of philosophy is required to enjoy this reader-friendly guide - this is the ideal reference tool for anyone starting out in philosophy.
A comprehensive guide to the main positions, debates, key figures and problems as well as important terms in the philosophy of mind, from Plato and Leibniz to externalism and the frame problem, from Husserl to neural Darwinism, from mental causation to the problem of consciousness. Philosophy of Mind A-Z is a reliable and friendly guide for anyone studying philosophy of mind or cognitive science, or simply interested in the many sides and facets of our mental life.
The Concise Encyclopedia offers a lively, readable, comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Western philosophy as a whole. It serves not only as a convenient reference work, but also as an engaging introduction to philosophy.
Informal Logical Fallacies: A Brief Guide by Problems in Epistemology and Metaphysics by Religion and Resistance in Appalachia: Faith and the Fight against Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining by Seeing Clearly: A Buddhist Guide to Life by Stoicism: a Very Short Introduction by The Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic by The Cambridge Handbook of Wisdom by What Is Epistemology? by What Is Ethics? by What Is Philosophy of Science? by What Is Philosophy of Religion? by Last updated: May 6, 2021
