Research Guides: Anthropology: Home

Books and eBooks - Anthropology

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - eBook

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Anthro-Vision: A New Way to See in Business and Life

First Steps: How Upright Walking Made Us Human

Social Sciences Research: Research, Writing, and Presentation Strategies for Students

We Are the Land: A History of Native California

Why Those Who Shovel Are Silent: A History of Local Archaeological Knowledge and Labor

A Short History of Humanity: A New History of Old Europe

Archaeological Oddities: A Field Guide to Forty Claims of Lost Civilizations, Ancient Visitors, and Other Strange Sites in America

Designing an Anthropology Career: Professional Development Exercises

Four Lost Cities: A Secret History of the Urban Age

How to Be Animal: A New History of What It Means to Be Human

ANTHR 130 - Bazua - Course Reserves

Life and Death on Mt. Everest - eBook by Sherry B. Ortner
Call Number: eBook 2020
Cultural Anthropology by Kenneth J. Guest
Call Number: DVC Reserve - ANTHR-130
Reserve textbooks can be checked out for up to 3 hours in-library use.
Cultural Anthropology by Jack David Eller
Call Number: DVC Reserve - ANTHR-130
Reserve textbooks can be checked out for up to 3 hours in-library use.

Hillary & Tenzing: Climbing to the Roof of the World
Call Number: DVC Media Reserves
DVDs can be checked out for in-library use for 3 hours.
The man who skied down Everest
Call Number: DVC Media Reserves
DVDs can be checked out for in-library use for 3 hours.
Everest : the true story of the 1996 Mount Everest disaster that killed eight climbers
Call Number: DVC Media Reserves
DVDs can be checked out for in-library use for 3 hours.
High Tension: Reel rock 8
Call Number: DVC Media Reserves
DVDs can be checked out for in-library use for 3 hours.
Sherpa
Call Number: DVC Media Reserves
DVDs can be checked out for in-library use for 3 hours.

Sherpas of Nepal: Disappearing World (1977)
The main concern of the film is to examine what it means to be Sherpa today in both cultural and economic terms. Sequences showing peasant farming activities, in combination with scenes of Sherpa life in Katmandu, contrast the old way of life with the new and illustrate the changing socio-economic conditions encountered by Sherpas today.
Epic of Everest (1935)
The third attempt to climb Everest culminated in the deaths of two of the finest climbers of their generation, George Mallory and Andrew Irvine, and sparked an on-going debate over whether or not they did indeed reach the summit. Filming in brutally harsh conditions with a hand-cranked camera, Captain John Noel captured images of breathtaking beauty and considerable historic significance.
The Challenge: Everest - Parts 1 - 3 (2018)
Ben and Victoria prepare for their expedition through a series of gruelling altitude tests. Then they head to Nepal via the world’s most frightening airport and begin the arduous trek to Everest Base Camp. They encounter stunning views, Buddhist blessings and a tearful stop at the Climbers’ memorial.

Can't play these videos? Open a new tab in your browser & log in to Insite Portal. Then come back here and try the links again.

Trouble with Kanopy? FAQ about logging in to Kanopy

Still can't log in? FAQ about troubleshooting the DVC Library databases

The Hunters (1952)
This re-release of an early classic in anthropological film follows the hunt of a giraffe by four men over a five-day period. The film was shot in 1952-53 on the third joint Smithsonian-Harvard Peabody sponsored Marshall family expedition to Africa to study Ju/'hoansi, one of the few surviving groups that lived by hunting - gathering.
The Ax Fight (1975)
A fight broke out in Mishimishimabowei-teri on the second day of Chagnon and Asch's stay in this village in 1971. The conflict developed between the villagers of Mishimishimabowei-teri and their visitors from another village. The Ax Fight operates on several levels. It plunges the viewer into the problems of Yanomamo kinship, alliance, and village fission; of violence and conflict resolution. At the same time it raises questions about how anthropologists and filmmakers translate their experience into meaningful words and coherent, moving images.
The Feast (1970)
Yanomamo feasts are ceremonial, social, economic, and political events. They are occasions for men to adorn their bodies with paint and feathers, to display their strength in dance and ritualized aggression; for trading partnerships to be established or affirmed; and for the creation or testing of alliances. In the feast filmed in 1968, the Patanowa-teri had invited the Mahekodo-teri to their village. The two groups had been allies until a few years before this event, when they had fought over the abduction of a woman. They now hoped to renew their broken alliance, which they did successfully. Soon after the filmed feast, the two villages together raided a common enemy. A detailed discussion of this feast, and of the significance of feasting among the Yanomamo, is found in chapter 4 of Chagnon's Yanomamo: The Fierce People.
Dead Birds (1964)
DEAD BIRDS is a film about the Dani, a people dwelling in the Grand Valley of the Baliem high in the mountains of West Irian. When fillmmaker Robert Gardner shot the film in 1961, the Dani had an almost classic Neolithic culture. They were exceptional in the way they focussed their energies and based their values on an elaborate system of intertribal warfare and revenge.
Malcom X (2010)
In the opinion of some, his name still stands for violent black activism, his anti-white acid and incendiary speeches are still quoted by advocates of violence. But for most, his name has become the symbol for peaceful means to resolve racial issues, in particular for in this period of "shock of civilizations". This documentary reconstitutes the murder and looks at the serious leads casting light on his assassination. It is also the occasion to discover the key stages of the life of the fighter for the cause of the Black, and later of all oppressed people, irrespective of race and religion. It will reveal some of the important contradictions of this outstanding personality.
I Am Not Your Negro (2016)
I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. It is a film that questions black representation in Hollywood and beyond. Baldwin and Peck have produced a work that challenges the very definition of what America stands for.
Emancipation Road: 1963-1968 - The Civil Rights Era (2014)
A look at the protests, demonstrations, and prominent figures of the Civil Rights Movement that finally ended segregation in the United States.
Ishi's Return (2016)
A short documentary about Ishi, billed in 1911 as the "last wild Indian" when he wandered out of the woods in Oroville, CA, and became a national sensation. When Ishi died, his brain was removed and sent to the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC. Eighty years later, his descendants in California fight to have his remains repatriated to his ancestral home. Contrary to the master narrative that Indians would die off, the film shows how Native Americans managed to survive the darkest period of their history and reclaim parts of a fractured past.
We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes
Produced for PBS’s American Experience, the miniseries We Shall Remain tells five heartbreaking yet inspiring stories. Together they highlight Native American ingenuity and resilience over the course of 300 years. This five-part series shows how Native peoples valiantly resisted expulsion from their lands and fought the extinction of their culture. It covers Native American history from the Wampanoags of New England in the 1600s who used their alliance with the English to weaken rival tribes, to the bold new leaders of the 1970s who harnessed the momentum of the civil rights movement to forge a pan-Indian identity. This documentary represents an unprecedented collaboration between Native and non-Native filmmakers. Distributed by PBS Distribution. 5-part series, 60 minutes each.

Can't play these videos? Open a new tab in your browser & log in to Insite Portal. Then come back here and try the links again.

Trouble with Kanopy? FAQ about logging in to Kanopy

Still can't log in? FAQ about troubleshooting the DVC Library databases

Articles - Anthropology

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

This database has full-text academic articles in almost every subject, including quite a few peer-reviewed and scholarly journals. A good choice for almost any topic.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides academic journal articles from thousands of titles, with particular emphasis on arts, social sciences, history, literature, ethnic and area studies, and the humanities.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Credo Reference Academic Core (Infobase)

Includes reference encyclopedias and handbooks, which feature easy-to-read overviews and background information on thousands of topics. Credo also features videos, illustrations, photographs, visual aids, and maps.