The Fair Use Doctrine (17 US Code sec. 107) allows instructors to use copyrighted printed/textual materials in their classes without obtaining permission, provided that certain conditions are met.
: May I copy or print an article from a periodical for distribution to the class?
Answer: Yes. Distribution of multiple copies for classroom use is Fair Use. However, the repeated use of a copyrighted work, from term-to-term, requires more scrutiny in a fair use evaluation. Repeated use, as well as a large class size, may weigh against fair use.
: Is there a limit to the number of articles I can copy each semester?
Answer: Yes, nine works, whether the copying is articles, chapters, or poems.
: If I want to use the same article next semester, do I have to ask permission?
Answer: Probably. While not an automatic disqualification, repeated use of a copyrighted work weighs against fair use. The repeated use of a copyrighted work, from term-to-term, requires particular scrutiny in a fair use evaluation.
Such a use explicitly relates to "market effect", the fourth factor in a fair use evaluation. For any repeated use to be judged as a fair use, it must be outweighed, in the balance, by the remaining three factors.
: Is there a way I can use the article without copying it?
Answer: Yes, check to see if the article is available online or in one of the library's databases then link to it.
Question: May I photocopy a poem for distribution to my class?
Answer: Yes, you may make one copy and distribute:
: Can I post the full-text of a journal article to my course page?
Answer: No, this is not Fair Use and is not permitted.
: Can I link to an article licensed by the library?
Answer: Yes, linking to articles from the library's subscription databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier) is permitted.
: Can I link to an articles found on the Internet?
Answer: Yes, linking to Open Access Works (works available online, without license, password, or technical restrictions) is permitted.
: Can I link to articles with a Creative Commons License?
Answer: Yes. Depending on the license terms, you may also be able to post the article on your course page with proper attribution.
|Alphabetical list of the library's subscription databases, including many databases that provide full-text access to multidisciplinary and subject-specific academic journals.|
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides the full-text of more than 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.