Engineering, Electronics, and Energy Systems

Engineering Your Future: A Comprehensive Introduction to Engineering, Ninth Edition, is an authoritative guide to the academic expectations and professional opportunities in engineering, a field that is both academically rigorous and creatively demanding.

For one/two semester courses in Engineering and Computer Science at the freshman/sophomore level. Engineering Problem Solving With C++, Fourth Edition provides a clear, concise introduction to engineering problem solving with C++ as well as the object-oriented features of the C++ programming language. The authors' proven five-step problem solving methodology is presented and then incorporated in every chapter of the text. The chapters in this text are designed to give the instructor flexibility in the ordering of topics with chapter topics covering the essentials of mathematical computations, character data, control structures, functions, arrays, classes, and pointers. Outstanding engineering and scientific applications are used throughout; all applications are centered around the theme of engineering challenges in the 21st century with an emphasis on incorporating real-world engineering and scientific examples and problems.

For undergraduate introductory or survey courses in electrical engineering A clear introduction to electrical engineering fundamentals, Electrical Engineering: Principles and Applications, helps students learn electrical-engineering fundamentals with minimal frustration.

Rizzoni's Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering provides a solid overview of the electrical engineering discipline that is especially geared toward the many non-electrical engineering students who take this course. The book was developed to fit the growing trend of the Intro to EE course morphing into a briefer, less comprehensive course. The hallmark feature of this text is its liberal use of practical applications to illustrate important principles. The applications come from every field of engineering and feature exciting technologies. The appeal to non-engineering students are the special features such as Focus on Methodology sections and Make the Connections sidebars.

Materials: Engineering, Science, Processing and Design is the essential materials engineering text and resource for students developing skills and understanding of materials properties and selection for engineering applications. Taking a unique design-led approach that is broader in scope than other texts, Materials meets the curriculum needs of a wide variety of courses in the materials and design field, including introduction to materials science and engineering, engineering materials, materials selection and processing, and behavior of materials. This new edition retains its design-led focus and strong emphasis on visual communication while expanding its coverage of the physical basis of material properties, and process selection.

For courses in Engineering.   Start at the beginning to introduce your students to MATLAB MATLAB® For Engineers introduces  students the MATLAB coding language. Developed out of Moore's experience teaching MATLAB and other languages, the text meets students at their level of mathematical and computer sophistication. Starting with basic algebra, the book shows how MATLAB can be used to solve a wide range of engineering problems. Examples drawn from concepts introduced in early chemistry and physics classes and freshman and sophomore engineering classes stick to a consistent problem-solving methodology. Students reading this text should have an understanding of college-level algebra and basic trigonometry. The text includes brief backgrounds when introducing new subjects like statistics and matrix algebra. Sections on calculus and differential equations are introduced near the end and can be used for additional reading material for students with more advanced mathematical backgrounds.

For courses in introductory combined Statics and Mechanics of Materials courses found in ME, CE, AE, and Engineering Mechanics departments.   Statics and Mechanics of Materials represents a combined abridged version of two of the author's books, namely Engineering Mechanics: Statics, Fourteenth Edition and Mechanics of Materials, Tenth Edition. It provides a clear and thorough presentation of both the theory and application of the important fundamental topics of these subjects, that are often used in many engineering disciplines. The development emphasizes the importance of satisfying equilibrium, compatibility of deformation, and material behavior requirements. The hallmark of the book, however, remains the same as the author's unabridged versions, and that is, strong emphasis is placed on drawing a free-body diagram, and the importance of selecting an appropriate coordinate system and an associated sign convention whenever the equations of mechanics are applied. Throughout the book, many analysis and design applications are presented, which involve mechanical elements and structural members often encountered in engineering practice.   Also Available with MasteringEngineering (tm) . MasteringEngineering is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Interactive, self-paced tutorials provide individualized coaching to help students stay on track. With a wide range of activities available, students can actively learn, understand, and retain even the most difficult concepts. The text and MasteringEngineering work together to guide students through engineering concepts with a multi-step approach to problems.   Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringEngineering does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MasteringEngineering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.   If you would like to purchase boththe physical text and MasteringEngineering, search for:   0134301005 / 9780134301006          Statics and Mechanics of Materials Plus MasteringEngineering with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 5/e Package consists of: 0134395107 / 9780134395104          MasteringEngineering with Pearson eText 0134382595 / 9780134382593          Statics and Mechanics of Materials, 5/e  

Covers the main topics of engineering graphics, including tolerancing and fasteners, and gives engineering students a basic understanding of how to create and read engineering drawings.

For Statics Courses. A Proven Approach to Conceptual Understanding and Problem-solving Skills Engineering Mechanics: Statics excels in providing a clear and thorough presentation of the theory and application of engineering mechanics. Engineering Mechanics empowers students to succeed by drawing upon Professor Hibbeler's everyday classroom experience and his knowledge of how students learn. This text is shaped by the comments and suggestions of hundreds of reviewers in the teaching profession, as well as many of the author's students. The Fourteenth Edition includes new Preliminary Problems, which are intended to help students develop conceptual understanding and build problem-solving skills. The text features a large variety of problems from a broad range of engineering disciplines, stressing practical, realistic situations encountered in professional practice, and having varying levels of difficulty. Also Available with Mastering Engineering -- an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Interactive, self-paced tutorials provide individualized coaching to help students stay on track. With a wide range of activities available, students can actively learn, understand, and retain even the most difficult concepts. The text and MasteringEngineering work together to guide students through engineering concepts with a multi-step approach to problems. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Engineering does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Engineering, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Engineering, search for: 0135841437 / 9780135841433 Engineering Mechanics: Statics plus Mastering Engineering Revision with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 14/e Package consists of: 0133915425 / 9780133915426 Engineering Mechanics: Statics 0135681987 / 9780135681985 Mastering Engineering Revision with Pearson eText -- Standalone Access Card -- for Engineering Mechanics: Statics & Dynamics

PRECISION MACHINING TECHNOLOGY has been carefully written to align with the National Institute of Metalworking Skills (NIMS) Machining Level I Standard and to support achievement of NIMS credentials. This new text carries NIMS� exclusive endorsement and recommendation for use in NIMS-accredited Machining Level I Programs. It's the ideal way to introduce students to the excitement of today's machine tool industry and provide a solid understanding of fundamental and intermediate machining skills needed for successful 21st Century careers. With an emphasis on safety throughout, PRECISION MACHINING TECHNOLOGY offers a fresh view of the role of modern machining in today's economic environment. The text covers such topics as the basics of hand tools, job planning, benchwork, layout operations, drill press, milling and grinding processes, and CNC. The companion Workbook/Shop Manual contains helpful review material to ensure that readers have mastered key concepts and provides guided practice operations and projects on a wide range of machine tools that will enhance their NIMS credentialing success.

Engineering Graphics Tools for the Mind is a comprehensive set of engineering graphics tools that combines hand sketching, video presentations, and a digital engineering graphics reference book into a single textbook package.

Based on the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC), the NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE 2020 softbound edition includes the most current requirements and emerging topics, such as renewable energy and energy storage, to help protect and build a safer world.

For courses in DC/AC circuits: conventional flow. Complete, accessible introduction to DC/AC circuits Principles of Electric Circuits: Conventional Current Version provides a uniquely clear introduction to fundamental circuit laws and components, using math only when needed for understanding. Floyd's acclaimed coverage of troubleshooting - combined with exercises, examples, and illustrations - gives students the problem-solving experience they need to step outside the classroom and into a job. The 10th edition has been heavily modified to improve readability and clarity and to update the text to reflect developments in technology since the last edition. This edition also adds new step-by-step procedures for solving problems with the TI-84 Plus CE graphing calculator.

This text provides an exceptionally clear introduction to DC/AC circuits supported by superior exercises, examples, and illustrations and an emphasis on troubleshooting and applications. Throughout the text's coverage, the use of mathematics is limited to only those concepts that are needed for understanding. Floyd's acclaimed troubleshooting emphasis provides students with the problem solving experience they need to step out of the classroom and into a job!  For DC/AC Circuits courses requiring a comprehensive, classroom tested text with an emphasis on troubleshooting and the practical application of DC/AC principles and concepts.

Frank Petruzella's Electricity for the Trades, second edition, sets a new standard for textbooks on electrical training. Frank Petruzella is a tradesman with more than 30 years of experience. This well-illustrated text provides an excellent foundation of electrical and electronic principles. This edition has been modifed to prepare students for specialization in the electrical trades or one of the many related trades that require a special understanding of electrical fundamentals.

Troubleshooting Electrical/Electronic Systems covers all aspects of troubleshooting electrical and electronic systems. This text/workbook is designed for use in the electrical industry, electrical training programs, and related fields. Each chapter contains electrical and electronic system applications, step-by-step troubleshooting procedures, and handson troubleshooting activities that reinforce the concepts presented. This edition includes new and expanded coverage of alternative energy systems, NFPA 70Ereg; requirements, and motor nameplate interpretation. An interactive CD-ROM is also included.

Industrial Maintenance and Mechatronics is a comprehensive, standards-based text that provides curriculum support for college-level Industrial Technology Maintenance (ITM) programs. The text carries the exclusive endorsement of NIMS and prepares students to earn up to nine of the nationally-recognized ITM credentials from NIMS. Designed to work in conjunction with the Duties and Standards for Industrial Technology Maintenance, the standards-based learning package will help students pass the testing and performance requirements for NIMS credentialing and acquire the multidisciplinary, hands-on skills needed in today's advanced manufacturing industry. The authors have purposefully designed the text to impart need-to-know information in an accessible style. It provides essential background theory and explains why ITM students need to know it. Special features include dedicated chapters on troubleshooting, plus Tech Tips and Safety Notes throughout the text, to prepare students for challenges they will encounter on the job. The text consists of 41 chapters grouped into sections that correspond to the principal industrial technology disciplines, with a special focus on electrical systems and electronic controls. Content includes multi-chapter sections on Maintenance Operations, Basic Mechanical Systems, Fluid Power, Electrical Systems, Electronic Control Systems, Process Control, Maintenance Welding, and Maintenance Piping, allowing the text to be used in multiple courses. The development of safe working practices is encouraged by extensive safety coverage and numerous Safety Notes throughout the textbook. NIMS Credentialing Preparation Questions are included at the end of each chapter, and the instructor resources include correlation charts for all nine NIMS Industrial Technology Maintenance credentials.

Electricians: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with professionals in a field that has proven to be a stable, lucrative, and growing profession. If you're looking for a career as an electrician this is the book for you.

Each chapter begins with a Snapshot of the occupation that includes median pay, job outlook, typical education requirements, working conditions, and recommended areas of interest.

Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides students planning to pursue one of many potential careers in Green Energy with the necessary insight into opportunities, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more.

This book comprehensively reviews the factors that facilitate access and success of Black students in STEM majors in higher education, and it shares compelling testimonies from Black STEM professionals that will help inspire the next generation of Black scientists and engineers.

This book is an essential resource that Latino/a students and families need to make the best decisions about entering and succeeding in a STEM career. It can also serve to aid faculty, counselors, and advisors to assist students at every step of entering and completing a STEM career.