Research Guides: Business: Home

Books and eBooks - Business

The 100 Most Significant Events in American Business

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Encyclopedia of African American Business

Microsoft Word 365 Complete: in Practice, 2019 Edition

College Accounting: A Practical Approach

The Street-Smart Side of Business: A Behind-The-Scenes Guide to Inspire Forward Thinking

California Real Estate Principles, 11th ed.

She Means Business: Turn Your Ideas Into Reality and Become a Wildly Successful Entrepreneur

Launching a Business: The First 100 Days

Barron's Real Estate Licensing Exams: Salesperson, Broker, Appraiser

Strategic Corporate Communication in the Digital Age

Articles - Business

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete includes case studies, company profiles, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis as well as peer-reviewed business related journals.

Regional Business News

This database provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

This database has full-text academic articles in almost every subject, including quite a few peer-reviewed and scholarly journals. A good choice for almost any topic.

Credo Reference Academic Core (Infobase)

Includes reference encyclopedias and handbooks, which feature easy-to-read overviews and background information on thousands of topics. Credo also features videos, illustrations, photographs, visual aids, and maps.

Internet Resources - Business

U.S. Small Business Administration
The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Find resources, workshop information, local and regional SBA offices, and more.
Entrepreneurship.org
The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, a non-profit and non-partisan organization, provides resources to promote entrepreneurship as part of a healthy economy.
SCORE Association
Mentorship, workshops and a variety of additional resources for people at all stages of creating or running a business. A project of the SBA.
National Women's Business Council
Information, resources, statistics and events for current and aspiring women business owners.

Contra Costa Small Business Development Center
Local resources, sponsored by the U.S. Small Business Association.
Directory of Contra Costa County Chambers of Commerce
Contra Costa Association of Realtors
Better Business Bureau
Find info on businesses or your local BBB.
California Secretary of State Business Programs

Economic Census Data
The Economic Census is the official site by Census Bureau. It helps providing industry statistics of your local areas in order to facilitate organizations' making informed business decisions.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The NAICS code, developed in cooperation with Canada and Mexico, is the classification system used to statistically track our economy. NAICS replaces the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
THE source for statistics on employment and the economy.
Edgar (Securities and Exchange Commission)
The Securities and Exchange Commission’s website with all current company filings, and information on how to research them.
U.S. Department of Commerce
The U.S. Department of Commerce, which includes many organizations important for business and the economy.