Research Guides: Photography: Home

Books and eBooks - Photography History & Technique

[Book cover] A lit vacuum cleaner stands in a dusk-blue snowy landscape. Titled

[Book cover] A white man with a light blue shirt and gray cap is taking a photograph with a professional camera and is surrounded by cameras. Book is titled

[Book cover] A swimmer floating in ocean waves on their back with goggles and swim cap on. Book title reads

Databases - Photography

ArtStor (Ithaka)

A digital library of approximately 400,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides academic journal articles from thousands of titles, with particular emphasis on arts, social sciences, history, literature, ethnic and area studies, and the humanities.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

Search and read over 100,000 books---all in digital format. Books cover a wide array of subjects.

Films - Photography

Photography - Films on Demand

Watch award-winning documentaries and educational programs about the art and history of photography.

Photography - Academic Video Online (AVON)

Educational programs from well-known producers like A&E, BBC, and PBS on photography and photographers of all kinds.

Internet Resources

DarkTable
DarkTable is an open source photography workflow application and raw developer. A virtual lighttable and darkroom for photographers. It manages your digital negatives in a database, lets you view them through a zoomable lighttable and enables you to develop raw images and enhance them.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) from Library of Congress The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Collections The New York Public Library Digital Collections contains 742,909 items and counting. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of our vast collections—from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more.
Google Arts and Culture: Photograph Almost 20,000 photographs from many periods and places.
Daguerreobase Daguerreobase is an online application designed to contain detailed information about daguerreotypes. Members can view, edit and store records of individual daguerreotypes and establish relations to other records based on a wide range of characteristics. This includes collections, owners, creators, hallmarks, housing models, sizes, materials and descriptions.
George Eastman Museum The Eastman Museum is actively building our collections, with an emphasis on photographic and moving image works by contemporary artists from many cultures to complement our great strength in works from the past. We are committed to the preservation of our collections and of George Eastman’s mansion and gardens.

Need help with citations?

APA Citation Style

MLA Citation Style

Chicago Style

PHC Phone 925-969-2595

SRC Phone 925-551-6270

Text 925-705-4031

Email ask@dvc.libanswers.com