Skip to main content

About the Library

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is an online research tool that “pulls together” almost all of our Library resources so that they can be explored using a single search box. In other words, rather than searching the Library Catalog for books and a database such as Academic Search Complete for journal articles, you can do a OneSearch search and get results which include books, e-books, journal articles, and government documents in one list. 

How to Use OneSearch

1. Enter Your Search Terms

OneSearch box on library homepageOn the library homepage, enter your search terms in the search box. Click on Search. The default search is for OneSearch. You can search just for books by clicking on the Books tab.

If you want to search for a phrase, enclose your words in "quotation marks". 


 

2. Limit Your Results

OneSearch is an online research tool that “pulls together” almost all of our Library resources so that they can be explored using a single search box. In other words, rather than searching the Library Catalog for books and a database such as Academic Search Complete for journal articles, you can do a OneSearch search and get results which include books, e-books, journal articles, and government documents in one list.

source type limiters in OneSearch results

Some Useful Ways to Limit and Refine Your Search:

  • Full Text
  • Books in the DVC Library - print and eBook
  • Academic, Peer Reviewed Journals
  • Source Types (magazines, primary source documents, videos)
  • Subject
  • Publication (individual journal, magazine, etc.)
  • Database (called "Content Provider" in OneSearch)


3. View Full Text Documents

OneSearch initially displays titles of sources, authors, and subjects. Hopefully, this will provide you with enough information to decide whether you want to see more. If an item is available in full text in one of the EBSCO databases, you will see an HTML or PDF full text link. Many of the HTML full text results will include tools to listen to the text (using automated speech-to-text) or to translate it (using machine translation).

You can use the Additional Databases panel on the right to find results in databases that are not included in the OneSearch platform. Use these buttons to search:

  • CQ ResearchOneSearch results list
  • Salem Press Reference
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • NY Times Historical