Research Guides: Multi-ethnic American Authors: Articles

Find articles in DVC databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This database has full-text academic articles in almost every subject, including quite a few peer-reviewed and scholarly journals. A good choice for almost any topic.

MasterFILE Complete & MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags.

JSTOR (Ithaka) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides academic journal articles from thousands of titles, with particular emphasis on arts, social sciences, history, literature, ethnic and area studies, and the humanities.

Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and educational programs on almost every topic.

A-Z list of databases
Scroll, search by subject, or search by database type (news, biographies, company information ...) to find the most appropriate library databases for your research.

Five Ways to Access Books After They Are Removed From Your Library
The ALA states that “libraries manifest the promises of the First Amendment by making available the widest possible range of viewpoints, opinions, and ideas, so that every person has the opportunity to freely read and consider information and ideas regardless of their content or the viewpoint of the author.” Unfortunately, it does not look like this trend will slow down anytime soon. So, in the case of materials being removed from your library, how can you continue to exercise your freedom to read?"