Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Policies

Course Reserves Policy: COVID-19 Library Closure  

 

General Information 

The Course Reserves collection/service supports the academic mission of Diablo Valley College by providing access to required materials for specific classes. 

Materials are placed in Course Reserves at the request of instructors or by library staff to ensure required materials for classes are available to all students. 

Currently, due to COVID-19 closure of the library building, the course reserve collection is provided as an online service to faculty and students. This online service is delivered as PDF scanned documents and can be requested through the: Course Reserves Form

Also, the collection can be accessed by appointment. Students can schedule a 45-minutes appointment to access a specific book. They also can use the scanner and copiers. Appointments can be scheduled through the: Book a Textbook Appointment Form.

What can be placed on Course Reserves? 

Items that can be placed on Course Reserves include:  

  • Books: Library-owned and instructor-owned books may be placed on Course Reserves. Links to eBooks are available through DVC library. Loose leaf and spiral binding books are not recommended due to heavy use. 

  • Articles: Single copies of articles that fall within Fair Use. Digital materials and links to articles are available through DVC library’s databases.  

  • Instructor-owned materials: Personal copies of books and media supplied by the faculty member that satisfy copyright guidelines. Instructors’ materials will be affixed with minimum identification and circulation labels, and security strips. While efforts will be made to safeguard materials, the library is not responsible for any damage to or loss of personal items placed on Course Reserves.  

  • Course packs: Readings assembled by instructors to supplement college courses, typically including an assortment of articles or sections of longer books. 

What cannot be placed on Course Reserves? 

  • Archival materials 

  • Reference books 

  • Special Collection books 

  • Materials from serials/periodicals collection 

  • Media & copies  

  • Materials belonging to other libraries 

  • Materials intended for individual users (Consumable workbooks, exercise sheets, test booklets, etc.) 

  • Materials printed from the internet or digitized works without appropriate copyright releases 

How are Instructor-owned materials placed in Course Reserves? 

During the COVID-19 closure, DVC Library is providing access to the Reserve services by sending students PDF files of book chapters within the copyright limits (usually 1-2 chapters).   

  • Complete Reserves Materials Request form. 

  • If you have a printer, print it and include it with the material(s) to be placed on reserve.  

       Please note: the time to process a request may take up to a week.   

  • If you don’t have printer access, please include a handwritten note with the material(s) to be placed on reserve with the instructor’s name and course information.   

  • During the library closure, materials to be placed on Reserve can be dropped into the drop box located on the ground floor of the Library building, next to the elevator.  

  • It is the responsibility of the instructors to request placing materials on Course Reserves; please be aware that the library does not place all course books on Course Reserves automatically.   

  • At the end of the semester we will remove reserves books and materials, please inform the library if you want the same book to be kept for the following semester.  

  • Requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. 

  • Reserves' needs take precedence over individual needs. For this reason, materials are recalled from borrowers for reserves regardless of the length of the time materials have been checked out to them. Note that these materials require an additional 10 - day processing time to allow for return. 

  • The library reserves the right to limit the number of copies based on the costs and the sections using the materials. 

  • If you have any questions, please contact Ricardo Ramirez at rramirez-castaneda@dvc.edu, or Tatiana Pak at tpak@dvc.edu  

How are library collection materials placed in Course Reserves?  

  • Processing requests may take up to a week.  

  • Requesters will receive a confirmation email.  


How are textbook purchase requests made?   
     

***Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the Library will attempt to acquire an e-version of all course reading titles if one is available. However, please be aware that a significant portion of textbook publishers do not provide e-options for libraries to acquire. If an e-version is not available for the library to obtain, the print version will be purchased.*** 

  • Purchase requests for a textbook to be placed on course reserve can be requested by filling out the following form: Request a Textbook for DVC Library Reserves   

  • The Library has limited funding for buying textbooks so not all requests can be fulfilled.  

  • Instructors should consider loaning a personal copy of the textbook to the Library, if possible.  

  • Acquiring and processing requests may take up to 2-4 weeks; however, every effort will be made to expedite all reserve requests. 

  • Requesters will be contacted as soon as possible about the status of the requested item if the request has been approved and when the materials have arrived.  

  • The Library accepts purchase requests any time during the semester; however, it is best to request materials in advance if they are needed at a specific time.  

  • The library reserves the right to limit the number of copies purchased based on the cost and the number of sections using the materials.  

How are materials removed from Course Reserves? 

  • Removing items from Reserves begins immediately after the end of the semester. 

  • Reserves staff will keep or remove items from Reserves based on the information provided by the DVC Book Center and instructors. 

  • Library-owned materials might be moved to another location in the library or discarded if no longer needed. 

  • It is the responsibility of the instructor to notify the reserves staff before the end of the current semester if items must remain on Reserves for the succeeding semester. 

  • Instructors-owned materials removed from Reserves will not be sent to instructors. If you need to claim materials, please contact Ricardo Ramirez at rramirez-castaneda@dvc.edu, or Tatiana Pak at tpak@dvc.edu   

  • Instructor-owned materials removed from Reserves will be in storage for three semesters. After that, it will be at the library’s discretion to either dispose of them or move them to another location. 

What are the Course Reserves check out rules?  

  • Only registered DVC students can use the Reserves Collection. 

  • Currently there is no limit to checkout requests for students, keeping in mind copyright restrictions for each item (approximately 1-2 chapters).  

  • Turnaround time for completing scan requests is 2 business days. Requests are not filled on weekends, non-instructional days, nor holidays.  

How are Fair Use and Copyright applied to Course Reserves?  

Instructors are responsible for determining if their use of copyrighted material falls within Fair Use or if they need to obtain permission to use the material. By submitting a reserve request, instructors accept responsibility for copyright compliance.  

The library may refuse materials for reserve, or remove materials already on reserve, for legal or administrative concerns. To find more information on the different types of copyright for materials, please click on the following links:  

Books/Textbooks 

Book Chapters 

Coursepacks/Readers 

Journal Articles, Prose, Poetry 

Images, Audio, Video 

To see the entire guide and learn more, click here: 

Copyright Guide for DVC Faculty